Welcome to New Zealand







  Copyright New Zealand


The South Island forms part of New Zealand’s two main islands, the other island is the North Island. The Maoris call the South Island “Te Wai Pounamu”, which means “the water of Greenstone”, they call it “Te Wara a Mauri” which means “Maui’s Canoe”. The South Island is 151,215 square kilometres and is the twelve largest islands in the world. The South island is not as populated as the North Island, which has a population of over three million, the total population of New Zealand a little over four million. The highest point is also found on the South Island which is the Mount Cook.  The South Island is divided in seven regions they are Tasman, Southland, Canterbury, Nelson, Otago, Marlborough and West Coast. Here are some of the main towns and cities of the South island are Dunedin, Invercargill, Picton, Alexandra, Queenstown, Richmond, Timaru, Oamaru, Gore, Greymouth, Palmerston, Omarama, Westport, Wanaka, Waimate, Ashburton, Christchurch, Mosgiel, Collingwood, Motueka, and Murchison.



Catlins South Island




Copyrights for all pictures on this site, it is and remains the property of www.new-zealand-nz.net

   2006 - 2012 www.new-zealand-nz.net